Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Small Resolutions to be Faithful In
January 1, 2012, 7:20 am
Filed under: Christian Living, Community, Good Advice, My life, work

Just read a post by Stephen Altrogge on New Year’s resolutions, which I found very helpful. And so, here are my Resolutions for 2012,

Personal:

  • Work on my handwriting each week as I write notes
  • Stick to the Bible Reading Plan I’ve selected
  • Hang out with friends outside of the dorm at least once every two weeks
  • Spend 30 minutes a week working on a foreign language
  • Work out once a week – I know it is small, but you have to start somewhere.
  • Read one book for leisure a month or see one movie
  • Memorize one verse a week

Ministry:

  • Write a note a week. This is something I’ve gotten out of the practice of. I used to write notes all the time in college, even though my roommate said that no one could read them because of my messy writing :), but now a days it seems like there is never time or I don’t have the brain power to do anything worthwhile. That has got to change.
  • Every Sunday spend time looking at the month ahead to prepare personally and better communicate to my staff
  • Pray regularly for eyes to see how the Spirit is at work in people’s lives to encourage them with what I see.
  • Dsomething spontaneous or silly with the girls at least once a month
  • And I don’t know how to turn this into a resolution that’s doable since it is more of a mind shift, but here is an excellent post on caring for the person God has placed before you in that moment instead of being preoccupied with that girl on the opposite side of the room who you are not talking to.
3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have always wanted to memorize moe verses… I’ll do it with you if you need a partner! :o) ..and about reading an extra book, if you want, I can join your book club! Miss you already! :o(

Comment by Belinda

I want to read and memorize more too! You, Bel, and I should do something!

Comment by cherilyn

We are memorizing Psalm 139 if you want to join us. We are up to verse 3 this week since the first few verses were short.

Comment by teachingtolearn




Leave a Reply

