Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Weekend Woes
September 12, 2011, 9:09 pm
Filed under: Friends, FUN!, These are a few of my favorite things...
  • I went away for the weekend, well one night.
  • I had to spend the whole weekend with friends.
  • I have friends who know me really well and give wise counsel.
  • I laughed wayyyy too much.
  • I didn’t dream of work and I didn’t wake up to an alarm clock.
  • It hailed and thundered so we couldn’t go to the beach and we stayed inside to play games.
  • Got coffee from Starbucks and bagels from the Bagel Shack. Their bagels are “seasoned” with whatever the selected topping is on both sides. So if you get a swiss bagel, there is melted cheese on the top and the bottom.
  • Was so laid back that I lost track of time.
  • My friends wouldn’t leave on time, and kept saying “Just stay a little longer,” so I was late to my next stop.
  • Hung out with one of my best friends from high school, her husband, her baby, and her mom who was in town.
  • Got a workout from flying and tumbling her little one around the house.
  • Had a scrumptious dinner and went home with Darby’s Oatmeal Bread and homemade plumb jelly.
  • Went to a huge flea market and walked around all day with Heidi. Spent money on things I had wanted for my house including some eclectic, colorful empty frames and a step stool.
  • Had to go hang with my former roommies, because one of their mamas was in town. It was the first time I had hung out there since I moved out in mid-July. We sat around and watched the movie Red with Bruce Willis.

Did I say weekend woes? I meant weekend wonders! I had a fabulous weekend. I only had one bummer. I found the perfect stools at the flea market for $35. They were perfect. Very vintage industrial. There were six and since the guy wouldn’t budge on price, I thought I would come back later if I really did want them. I really wanted them, so I did go back later. Unfortunately, he sold all six in one swoop. Every other stand I looked at, I liked the stools les,s and they were significantly more expensive. I just found identical stools to the one I liked online for $200 a piece. Oops. Next time I won’t make the same mistake.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Let’s see pics of the frames :)! Your weekend sounds amazing and I’m a little envious! You are blessed :)

Comment by cherilyn

I am. I’m very thankful. Pictures of the frames soon as soon as I can hang them :). I may need my brother’s help and a little more free time :).

Comment by teachingtolearn




Leave a Reply

