Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Book Enthusiast
October 10, 2010, 6:14 pm
Filed under: Books, Cool Finds, These are a few of my favorite things...

Ok, so I never asked for a librarian themed birthday party like one little girl, but I did get in trouble quite a few times for reading as a young girl when I should have been sleeping. I also got in trouble for not responding to my parents when they spoke to me because I had my nose stuck in a book and my mind engaged in a whole different setting and on long road trips I would get in trouble for trying to prolong the reading hours long into the night. I grew up in a household with narrow hallways because bookshelves lined the halls. Perhaps my parents should have invested in furniture like this. Anyway… I love books.

 Unfortunately, I buy more than I have time to read. I guess I would be labeled as an information hoarding Christian in the post by Stephen Altrogge on How to Be a Bible Profiler. Where would  you fall? Do you have a similar problem with buying books but not finding time to actually read them?

I’ve been thankful recently to pick up a classic that has been on my bookshelf for a while. To my shame, it has not been fully read even though I have recommended it to others. I’m in the process of reading it now. It’s 31 chapters, one for each day of the month. If you get a chance, you should read Future Grace by John Piper. God’s such an amazing teacher and I’ve been thankful how He has used the timing of that book in my life.

Another book that has been sitting on my shelf that was recently pulled for a paper I am writing on Biblical Hope is A Quest for More: Living for Something Bigger than You by Paul Tripp. I only read the chapter on hope, but I really appreciated what I gleaned from it and look forward to having time to read the entire book.

For the last ten months I have had this book sitting on my shelf. I stole it from a coworker in our annual white elephant book exchange. I still haven’t read it, so I decided it was time to pass it along to him, but the book does sound intriguing.

How many books do you currently own that you have not read? What are the ones at the top of your to-read pile?

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey cutie!!! First of all, PRAISE THE LORD your parents did not invest in that kind of furniture… their entire house would be decorated that way! …though I think your dad would be in hog heaven! :o) As for the book you stole from your co-worker, I have heard of that book and am interested in reading it too… maybe you could bring it up for Thanksgiving? I also have TONS of books I want to read…some fun novels, others having to do with teaching…in order to solve my lack of time problem, I decided to implement a new policy in my classroom: 15 minutes of silent reading daily! :o) And, since all the books say that the teacher needs to lead by example, they all encourage teachers to read as well… needless to say I’ve already finished 2 books! WOOHOO!!!!

Anyway, I just wanted you to know that I feel your pain! :o) I miss you and love you and can’t wait to see you!
B

Comment by Belinda

I just started reading “A Quest for More” yesterday! I’m loving it!

Comment by Polly Meredith

B – I miss you and love you too!Can you imagine how much the boys would hate it if all my parents’ furniture was made out of bookshelves :). I love your idea of 15 minutes of silent reading in the class a day. I don’t think I can pull that off/justify that in the office :). I gave the book to the coworker I took it from when he went on a recent trip. If it shows up at the Christmas book exchange again, I will grab it and bring it up.
Polly – I’m so glad we like the same things and I’m glad we get to have lunch together soon :).

Comment by teachingtolearn

You know, recently, I’ve been catching up on my Francine Rivers books. This summer I read a few of her books which are set in Rome right after Paul’s death. It was so great to read those after I got back! Now I”m reading a sequel to a book she wrote based on her family story. It’s all about mothers and daughters… It’s FABULOUS! :o)

Miss you!

Comment by Belinda

I just started reading Steven Curtis Chapman’s wife’s memoir about when their daughter died. IT’s a great book!
Belinda, I did the read while the kids are reading thing last year and it was awesome!

Comment by Cherilyn

Thanks for sharing, Cherilyn. I didn’t know she had written a book. I will put that on my too read list. What is it called?

Comment by teachingtolearn




Leave a Reply

