Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Manuscript Mondays

Caitlin’s leaving and we never got to have our Manuscript Monday :(. We both did a lot of reading early on in the summer, but after the idea for Manuscript Monday’s was born, the office got really busy. So here is a post in honor of Manuscript Mondays.

Be warned, my son, of anything in addition to them. Of making many books there is no end, and much study wearies the body. – Ecclesiastes 12:12

Books to Read this Year

Books I Have Skimmed, Started, or Contemplated Reading

Books I Got for Free from the Library Give Away

Books I Recently Ordered

I would like to know everything, but there are not enough hours in the day. Bottom line: I’m not God. I know – not a shocker. I also used to not read much because I would read slowly thinking I needed to retain everything. I’ve now realized that I don’t need to read perfectly and retain perfectly. There is a freedom that comes with that. C.J. Mahaney has a good post on reading in spite of forgetting. You can read it here. In his post, he includes the following quote from Piper:

What I have learned from about twenty-years of serious reading is this: It is sentences that change my life, not books.

Related Post: Summer Traditions

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I want to come borrow your books! What are the titles that you have in that bottom picture of books you’ve ordered? I need some suggestions :) Happy Reading! There’s still a tad bit of summer left.

Comment by Cherilyn

No summer left for me, but I probably have more time in the school year to read than you do :). The books in the bottom picture are Total Church, Mind in the Making by Ellen Galinsky, and Surprised by Grace by Tchividjian. I don’t know how good they are. I haven’t read them yet. I’ve heard really good things about the last one though. The second one I believe is a teacher book.

Comment by teachingtolearn




Leave a Reply

