Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Blogging Buddies, Bangs and Buggies, Beaches, and Bummin’ around with Friends on the Fourth

Meet my new blogging buddy. It’s amazing how something so impersonal as a blog can create  community. You blog alone and usually read alone, but in the process you communicate your beliefs, your likes, your dislikes, your strengths, your weaknesses, and your passions. The hope is that it is thoughtful, purposeful, and truthful communication. A blog communicates information, but it also communicates a lot about who you are. It educes laughter, tears, and creativity (at least the blogs I read do). They entertain; they encourage; they convict; they inspire.


This is Polly. We became fast friends this weekend through “a mutual acquaintance.” Polly and I went to college together and we now both work in different departments at our Alma Mater, but we have had few opportunities to hang out before this weekend. I’ve enjoyed her blog immensely over the last year, but this weekend we found out we had one more thing in common: Darby and Erica. Ok, so neither of us have ever met Darby or Erica, but we love them. I was telling the whole group about a fun game to play at dinner parties. Polly said she had heard of it. I casually asked, “Do you read Darby’s blog?” My question was followed by squeals of delight and rapid responses by both of us. We talked about honey butter, her adorable kids, how refreshing it is that she portrays real life, her sister, her trip to Italy, how she has been sick, etc. Everyone else at the table was silent. Their heads bobbed back and forth with our rapid-fire comments. They felt like we were speaking another language and communicating an unknown culture. While we may never get to know Darby or Erica, they have impacted us, and they have helped us get to know each other better through our common enjoyment of reading a thoughtful or entertaining post, a recipe they share, or a delightful photos or video they post.

Anyhoo… I finally stopped contemplating getting bangs cut and I did it. I didn’t really walk out of the salon with bangs on the first shot. It was more like a few strands of shorter hair in the front. I had to go back to pay the next day because his credit card machine hadn’t been working, but I didn’t know that. That has always been my worst fear when getting my haircut. Since you don’t pay until the end, I’ve always wondered what happens when you can’t pay. This wasn’t my fault, but I was still mortified. My embarrassment and fear were lessened, however, because the stylist goes to my church :). When I told him my roommates didn’t think I looked like Catherine Zeta Jones [I had given him a picture of her bangs to copy the day before], he laughed. He marveled  that they didn’t see the resemblance, and then he cut me some real bangs.

I still don’t know what to do with my bangs. I like them better after they are severely tangled by the wind after a ride in a dune buggy. Maybe I should invest in a Dune Buggy or a Vespa to ride to work every day. Then my hair would be “done.”

Bangs Before the Ride

And After the Ride

A Fourth of July weekend in the great outdoors wouldn’t be complete without a dip in a body of water. We went to the lake; unfortunately I don’t have a bathing suit right now. I enjoyed my book on the beach.

Think we have enough floating objects?

Way to go Lisa!

The gang's all here!

My toes enjoying the cool lake.

Rowing on Beach Not Recommended

What fun!

Relaxing on the beach; Warn out by the sun and the water.

Beautiful!

We had a great weekend. New friends and old. Family life. Adventure. Traditional fun. Food. Lots of Food. Visitors. Fireworks. Down time. Reading. Rest. Good times were had by all.

Our wonderful hosts - THANK YOU FOR A GREAT WEEKEND!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the shout-out! I love that we can be blogging buddies and real-life buddies. I had so much fun with you over the weekend… let’s do it again soon!

Comment by Polly Meredith

You made my night! Thanks for your kind and thoughtful words… and I love your bangs! :)

Comment by Darby




Leave a Reply

