Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


So Sweet!

While I was still wide-eyed and new at my job, I wrote about working at the Happiest Place on Earth. Tomorrow I’m headed to the place most other individuals identify as “The Happiest Place on Earth.”

Today this girl, who is no longer wide-eyed or green, wants to make a case for why I do indeed work at the happiest place on earth. I get to work with people who love God and love people and I get to see practical expressions of that all the time. I get to see 17 to 23-year-olds who are exceedingly thoughtful and serve others. That’s supernatural. I think that most people who work in secular higher education institutions would agree it is NOT NATURAL.

Today I got a call from the mailroom that there were flowers there for me  to pick up. I was taken by surprise. I’ve gotten more flowers this semester than in the last 2 years. The most likely culprits, my bosses, had just given me a large gift the day before for Administrative Assistant’s Day (They never forget and I don’t even  remind them :) ). I went to the mailroom with a friend to get the roses and received a beautiful bouquet of white roses with  the following little note on lined paper:

The mail lady told me that the student had asked a few days ago if it would work to leave them in the mailroom. She was sworn to secrecy, but said they had been left by a very sweet young man. Then she said that she had probably said too much. She actually thought that had given it away :). That reminds me of my last post. How would you like for someone to think they had revealed your identity by saying the word “sweet”?

Happily I proclaim that that could be said of many students on our campus. Although  it can be said that it is rare for a college student to be so thoughtful of an office worker on campus, I see countless acts of kindness extended on our campus in ways that can only be explained by the work of Christ. I work at a place where love reigns because Jesus Christ is our Lord. What a cool experience!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

