Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


60 People in my House!
February 1, 2010, 5:48 am
Filed under: FUN!, Hospitality

I don’t think I have ever hosted so many people. Our downstairs is not very large, but it is pretty open which is nice for parties. Last Saturday evening, we hosted the soup course of the Third-Culture Kid/International student progressive dinner. It was a lot of fun!

The challah bread (five loaves) I made was gone in minutes. For soup I made Thai Coconut Curry Soup. That’s what I call it because it was inspired by a kosher Chinese food restaurant in Tiberius, Israel on the Sea of Galilee… so I guess all of those descriptors of the inspiration along with the title, along with the fact that this mock recipe was made by a white girl make it a fusion rather than an authentic recipe.

When one of the students asked me what kind of soup it was, I replied with a smile, “I call it Thai Coconut Curry Soup, but if anyone here is Thai, please don’t tell them.” He jokingly turned to Eli who is from Thailand and said, “Eli, is this soup Thai.” He replied with an adamant, “No,” and then tried to back peddle with a, “but I was just telling so-and-so that it has a Thai flavor to it.”

The whole thing made me smile. 60 people in our downstairs, Internationals eating my “Thai” soup, how cool these students are, and how awesome my roommates were in allowing/participating in the whole thing. They were good sports.

I hope to post recipes soon.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] and fellowship at our house.  A couple weeks ago we had 60 people in our house at one time. Click here to read more about that. Leave a Comment No Comments Yet so far Leave a comment RSS feed for […]

Pingback by Woman to Woman « Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach




Leave a Reply

