Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Who I Want to Be Like and Why, Part IV
January 18, 2010, 11:11 pm
Filed under: Christian Living, role models, school days, tmc, work

A while back I started a series of posts on who I wanted to be like and why. The series originally began after Rick Holland preached on Biblical Feminity, but this week I had the opportunity to sit under the preaching and teaching of great men and I saw a few specific traits I want to exemplify in my life.

1.) One spoke with dignity and diction as becomes a scholar, yet communicated so clearly that everyone in the room could understand him. I think this is especially important when communicating biblical truth. It is also a desired trait for the classroom.

2. The other bleed Bible. All the speakers I heard wielded Scriptures well, but this teacher, as he taught at my Perspectives class, quoted large chunks of Scripture. He rarely read, but could quote the pertinent Scriptures and he used A LOT OF IT. Can you imagine how it would change the way you lived if you knew that much Scripture by heart (at least you would hope it would change the way you live)? Think about how it would change your interactions with others as you encourage and admonish them. Think about how it would change the quality of your conversations as that ruminated in your heart and mind. Think about how it would influence your choices.

Who Do You Want to Be Like and Why?
Who I Want to Be Like and Why, Part II
Who I Want to Be Like and Why, Part III
Here
 is another person I would like to be like.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

