Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


The God who Answers Prayers Is Good and Sovereign.
January 1, 2010, 6:34 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

My four-year-old niece had an epiphany on Christmas day. She was lamenting one aspect of our holiday celebration that I also mourned. I suggested that she pray about it and that perhaps God would change it before next year’s celebration. She replied rather quickly,

“But what if He says, ‘No.’?”

I thought that was rather insightful for a four-year-old. She understood that God was not a genie who would grant our wishes. What she didn’t know but needed to was that He could very well say “No,” but that He is good and loving and does what is best and we wouldn’t (or shouldn’t) want anything else.

Katie’s comments made me realize that I need this reminder frequently in my life as well. I strongly believe God is both good and sovereign; He is loving and powerful, but sometimes my affections grab hold of things and my desires become sin and sin makes me doubt God’s sovereignty and goodness. I become anxious and fret because I am desiring my way rather than the goodness of my Heavenly Father. I resort to worry, manipulation, plotting, and planning rather than prayer, because I am not following Christ. Christ’s prayer was “Not my will, but Yours.” I am valuing my desires above God and His glory. I am valuing my comfort over my sanctification. I am valuing a change of circumstances over the grace given to sustain me in the circumstances. I am valuing my persona rather than God’s glory. I need to remind myself of God’s goodness and sovereignty in every situation and go to Him in prayer with my every concern.

Philippians 4:6-7 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and petition with thanksgiving present your request to God and the peace of God which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

I Peter 5:7 Cast all your anxieties on Him, for He cares for you.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

