Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Two Things to Think on
December 22, 2009, 5:40 am
Filed under: Christian Living, Lessons Learned from Reading, My life

I’ve had two reoccurring ideas /themes in my life recently. Both were sparked by reading. The first idea captivated me while reading Respectable Sins, the second while reading Disciplines for Life (of which I have read very little).

  • God doesn’t overlook sins, He punished all of them on the cross. We view our sin incorrectly and minutely if we think God overlooks it. We also have a mistaken view of God’s justice and grace if we think He simply looks the other way. Lastly, we diminish the greatness of the incarnation and the beauty of the cross if we don’t realize the necessary work of atonement that took place in the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus.
  • Anxiety is a minute form of atheism. Worry comes when I try to control things, when I feel responsible to produce, direct, provide and to be perfect. I AM NOT GOD and there is good reason to worry when I assign myself those tasks. If, however, I believe in and remember my great God who controls ALL things and lovingly works for my good despite how it may seem, there is no room for worry only for prayerful, reliant faith, trust, and obedience.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

