Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Teaching to Obey
November 29, 2009, 6:41 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Although this blog initially dealt with all that I was learning as a teacher, it has become all that I am learning as a student in life. It seems like recently my poor readers have had to hear about some of my “reading assignments.” I hope you don’t mind. Some things are just too good to keep to yourself.

Once again, this excerpt was taken from Leading with Love by Alexander Strauch:

“…In a letter to a friend, Anne Sullivan reveals the secret gateway to educating and loving Helen:

‘I suppose I shall have many such battles with the little woman before she learns the only two essential things I can teach her, obedience and love.
I very soon made up my mind that I could do nothing with Helen in the midst of the family, who have always allowed her to do exactly as she pleased. She has tyrannized everybody… and like all tyrants she holds tenaciously to her divine right to do as she pleases …. I saw clearly that it was useless to try to teach her language or anything else until she learned to obey me. I have thought about it a great deal, and the more I think, the more certain I am that obedience is the gateway through which knowledge, yes, and love, too, enter the mind of the child.’

Anne Sullivan, an exceptionally gifted teacher, understood the significance of obedience in the process of education. She saw the connection between obedience and love” (175-176).

I have more comments on obedience, discipline, teaching, and love but I will save them for a future post :). I think there are quite a few biblical truths to support Anne Sullivan’s statement.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

