Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Gospel and Relationships
October 15, 2009, 10:33 am
Filed under: Books, Christian Living, Discipleship, Lessons Learned, My life

I could not have relationships apart from the gospel. I mean that. I see how often I want to be secluded. Life apart from people in a lot of ways easier for me. Not easier in the better sense, seclusion is actually terribly dangerous, but easier in that I am a man-fearer who desires perfection, comfort, and good standing in other’s eyes. All that makes me a lot more comfortable when not engaging in relationship. Relationship, however, is what God chooses to use to sanctify me. Sometimes I think “Oh, I just need to get away and solve all my problems before engaging with people.” No, that’s not how God designed it. He sanctifies us as we live life in community not as we flee from others. He sanctifies us as we live life with others in community.

The other day I had another moment where I thought it would just be better if I didn’t get to know people or if I kept my distance. I thought to myself, “I don’t want them to see my sin and that is bound to come out.” I also didn’t want to see their problems or that they were a messed up sinner just like me. The thing is, if you are living in light of the gospel, the fact that you are both sinners doesn’t act as a road block to relationship. Seeing your sin and understanding that we are all sinners, and seeing the grace God has extended allows us to respond rightly to seeing our own sin and our brother’s sin as it arises in community.

I guess this is just more musings on why I am thankful for the gospel and relationship.

I don’t think I have mentioned this book on here recently, but this summer I read Relationships: A Mess Worth Making. I highly recommend it to anyone out there. It is very thoughtful and proved to be very insightful and convicting in my life. It is an easy read and I really enjoyed it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

