Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Brad Paisley Concert with My Bro

I had the opportunity to go to a Brad Paisley concert with my brother Jeremy last week. It was a ways a way, but it was worth the drive. It was a good location, good crowd, a good song set, and great people watching. The only thing that could have been better was the opening act, but even that was successful. The purpose after all of opening acts is to get the crowd ready for the main event and we were very excited when the main event came along. Thanks, Jer, for being a good sport and setting aside the whole evening; it was fun.

As you can see, we didn't have the best seats in the house. We were actually in the very last row.

As you can see, we didn't have the best seats in the house. We were actually in the very last row.

Country has been under attack for many years. I actually disliked it for most of my life ...

Country has been under attack for many years. I actually disliked it for most of my life ...

... Then along came Mr. Brad Paisley with his stellar lyrics to rescue me from my biases against country. Not only does he write many of his own songs but he also does his own animation :).

... Then along came Mr. Brad Paisley with his stellar lyrics to rescue me from my biases against country. Not only does he write many of his own songs but he also does his own animation :).

 
Here are my two favorite songs from his new CD. These aren’t the best examples of his writing skill, but in honor of his tour I chose songs from the new CD. I cannot promote or recommend all of his songs, but he does wield his pen as skillfully as his guitar strings (He is a phenomenal player).

No (This song reminds me of a Sunday School class on Amy Carmichael I had when I was young.)

On my fifth birthday, I got so upset,
About the brand new bike, that I didn’t get.
I’d prayed my heart out, and it didn’t seem fair,
I told my grandpa, I guess God doesn’t care,
And he just smiled, and said my child,

Chorus:
Make no mistake, every prayer you pray,
gets answered, even though,
sometimes, the answer is no.

Five years later, out behind the shed,
With a stolen pack of grandpa’s cigarettes,
I struck a match, and held that first one to my lips,
And prayed to God please let me get away with this,
And through the smoke, I saw grandpa standing there.

Chorus

When I think of all the answers in my life, I would have to say,
There’s no doubt it was always for the best,
When I didn’t get my way.

Grandpa got older, like grandpas do,
His health was failing, and I guess I knew,
It’d be best if he was called on home,
but selfishly I prayed that God would keep him hanging on,
And when he passed away, in my mind I heard him say.

Make no mistake, every prayer you pray,
gets answered, even though,
sometimes, the answer is no.

Sometimes, the answer,
is no.

Then (Such Short Titles)

I remember, trying not to stare the night that I first met you
You had me mezmorized
And three weeks later, in the front porch light
taking forty-five minutes to kiss goodnight
I hadn’t told you yet
but I thought I loved you then

Chorus:

And now you’re my whole life
now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe the way I feel about you, girl
Like a river meets the sea,
stronger than it’s ever been.
We’ve come so far since that day
And I thought I loved you then

And I remember, taking you back to right where I first met you,
You were so surprised
There were people around, but I didn’t care
Got down on one knee right there once again,
I thought I loved you then

Chorus

I can just see you, with a baby on the way
And I can just see you, when your hair is turning gray
What I can’t see is how I’m ever gonna love you more
But I’ve said that before

And now you’re my whole life
now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe the way I feel about you, girl
We’ll look back someday, at this moment that we’re in
And I’ll look at you and say
And I thought I loved you then
And I thought I loved you then

I also enjoy his new Welcome to the Future songs. Click here to listen to the longer song with that title. His short little ditty entitled Welcome to the Future is even cuter when you know that he married the actress from Father of the Bride. Click here to see why.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good times :-)

I was about 100 yards once from a FREE Brad Paisley concert (at a fair) and didn’t even know it (was free and open).

Comment by Todd Bolen

I remember you hating country! You told me in jr. high that the only country song you would ever like was “Check Yes or No”! I am glad you’ve finally crossed over to the AWESOME side!

Comment by Cherilyn

I’m glad you think it is the awesome side. I did dislike country until I heard Mr. Brad Paisley’s awesome lyrics. Once introduced to the lyrics, my love for literature took over. Now country is one of my favorites!

Comment by teachingtolearn




Leave a Reply

