Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Read Something Before You Vote on It

Reading is so crucial to life. I’m liable for the fine print on anything I sign. In college a majority of the course load is reading and writing. Because reading is so important, I try to assign assignments to Jr. Highers to give them a love for reading as well as  teach them to read critically. Someone should have taught that to the U.S. House of Representatives who recently passed a law that they did not read. A completed copy didn’t even exist. Thousands of pages long and full of tax increases and restrictions by Big Brother (and big brother doesn’t even read what he makes law), the Cap and Trade Bill was passed on June 26, 2009. It is ridiculous. The Washington Examiner speculated on how the House will send a bill to the Senate to pass considering there is no actual completed bill. Click here to read that article. Here is a short paragraph on the subject.

In other related events…

I recently had a run in with a lady at Pavilions who was having people fill out a survey to convince them that Obama’s healthcare plan is beneficial to them. When she marked my fifth question wrong, I politely told her I disagreed. We continued to converse. I explained to her that I had no desire to give government control over one more area of my life. She said that the new heath care plan had nothing to do with government and asked me if I had read the question. She informed me I would be able to choose my own doctor with Obama’s plan. I informed her that the last question stated that we would pay the government who would then pay the private doctor of our choice – that means government would be involved. She suggested we read the fifth question together (a polite way of suggesting I couldn’t read). About half-way through she stopped reading when she read, “Individuals and employers will pay the government who will in turn pay the health care professional.” I guess she took a lesson from her party: you don’t need to read what you present or impose on the public.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

