Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


7 Natural Wonders of the World and 3 Wonders of Heaven
July 1, 2009, 7:26 am
Filed under: Counseling, geography / travel, Life, My life, Uncategorized

Recently, I have been researching the natural wonders of the world. I am fairly certain I will be writing my thesis on creation in counseling, so I’ve spent some of my free time this summer dreaming and researching trips I could take to further facilitate my thinking on the subject. There are actually many lists of natural wonders and no consensus on the top seven. The following list is one of many and was compiled by CNN and taken from Wikipedia:

Those are beautiful sites, and great things to cause us to stand in awe of God’s marvelous power, control, and creativity. Today in my daily email from grace gems I was also given something to contemplate and marvel at.  (Grace Gems is a service that sends daily nuggets of truth written by Puritans. If you are interested in receiving these emails, click here to sign up.) I received a list of the three wonders which John Newton expected to find in Heaven. While this list  is not exhaustive, and I’m sure we could form many different lists, you do have to admit that these are AMAZING wonders.

 If I ever reach heaven, I expect to find three wonders there:

  first, to meet some I would not have expected to be there;

  second, to miss some I would have expected to be there;

  third, the greatest wonder of all–to find myself there!

“By the grace of God I am what I am!” 1 Corinthians 15:10

 It makes me cry thinking about it. The way God can change people is amazing. The fact that people can put on such a show, say the right things, and even be a “good person” and be self-deceived or at least effective in deceiving others, makes me SO SAD. The fact that I will have an opportunity to spend eternity with God is truly a wonder. It brings tears of gratitude and just boggles my mind. I truly stand in awe of a beautiful sunrise or a cascading waterfall; I can’t believe the sight of the man-made wonders of Egypt, but to think of eternity with Christ… I can’t fathom what that will be like and when I think of it in light of what I deserve, I am truly amazed.

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

