Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


Missions, Evangelism, and Counseling
July 16, 2008, 6:59 pm
Filed under: Counseling, missions

I’ve been wondering how my course work for studying biblical counseling intersected with my desire to minister oversees. I’ve seen a great need in my own life to know my heart, in order to diagnose and deal with my sin. I’ve also noticed a need for this in the church today. I still wondered is it worth the delay to learn this. Yes! It definitely is. Counseling and Missions aren’t two separate, disjointed things. They share the same end, the same purpose. They are both dealing with creating worshippers, creating disciples. We all worship something. The goal of missions is to point people, who have perverted their worship from the living God and who worship other things, to Christ. In counseling we are helping to reorient the sinner from the sin which they have placed above God as an idol from that idol and back to God. The great commission is not “Go tell people about Jesus”; it is “Go make disciples… teaching them to observe all that I have commanded”. Counseling is one part of discipleship. My studies are very relevant to where I would like to be in the future. An added bonus is its relevence to my own personal life.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

