Teaching to Learn and Learning to Teach


A Belated Thanksgiving Quote
November 24, 2007, 3:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I just read an article by John Piper which respond to an athiest and a bishop who feel like the gratitude that results from Jesus’ death on the cross enslaves people. I really liked a couple thoughts and thought it was appropriate to be thinking on these things at Thanksgiving.

“… if you embrace the reality of dependence and follow it all the way to the free gift of salvation through Christ, it is not condemnation but liberation. It does not feel disempowering to be called a ‘fellow-heir of God’ (Romans 8:17).”

“‘My Grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Paul responded, ‘Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me … For when I am weak, then I am strong’ (2 Cor. 12:9). So his dependence made him stronger than he would have been otherwise. He is strong with the strength of Christ.”

“May I humbly invite you, and others you have influenced, into the lowly ranks of the dependent, thankful, happy, children of the living God on this Thanksgiving day. There is great grace. Great forgiveness. All-supplying mercy. All-satisfying Beauty. Inexhaustible wisdom. It is all in Jesus Christ. And it lasts forever. May we say together, ‘Thanks be to God for his indescribable Gift.’

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

